Views on Life & on Equity Investing

Wonder, Wealth & Abundance

United Nilgiri Tea Estates – India

with 7 comments

I have a low opinion of propagating stock investing as a profession, easy money, treasure hunt, road to billions, connotes all of that, hence infrequency of posts.

Ironically, I myself like nothing more than going through ten annual reports on a weekend, and to think of compounding most of the time. 

My personal opinion for you equity crazy people on the company link

Disclosure: I and my Fund have position in this stock. Please consult your SEC, SEBI, FMA registered investment adviser before investing.

Written by amitdipsite

January 23, 2016 at 5:23 am

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Hi Amit,
    Nice write-up on the idea. Your earlier write-ups have been great learning source for me. I had some queries specific to
    a. how do you build your positions in the portfolio-some significant part allocated for taking small positions in numerous microcaps or significant allocation to selected microcaps
    b. how do you deal with shuffling your positions as on a timely basis considerable number of decent microcaps would be coming in your radar, which would seem attractive
    c. cash calls/sell decisions-how and when do you take them

    I am a full time investor, and hence your inputs would be of tremendous help. A skype call/discussion would be great but can do with write-up as well.

    Regards
    Ankush

    ankush

    January 24, 2016 at 3:54 pm

  2. Dear Ankush

    Please write your strategy, I will follow up with my answer. Please note you are ahead of me, as I am part time investor🙂

    With regards

    Amit Arora

    January 24, 2016 at 7:34 pm

  3. Hi Amit,
    I am still very early into the markets..:) Not seen a bear cycle. As of now my focus is more on to build wealth rather than to conserve it.

    I am more inclined to small caps/selective mid-caps/ microcaps. I try to maintain cash of around 15-20% in my portfolio and believe in phasing the investments also by time. Around 65% of my capital is deployed into 10 stocks with major 2 even occupying 15% each. One being of 400cr size and other being of-5000cr size. Belief is that they will be steady compounders with minimum 3-5yr time frame . 20% is something that I am looking to deploy in selected microcaps with small allocation and increase subsequently once I know them better. Had exited few investments in December so am currently with 35% cash.

    On shuffling I believe that 15-20% of portfolio can be rotated every year provided current investments maturing in their3 yr cycle or other better opportunities existing. Still not very clear on this, and I believe there is tremendous scope for improvement on the same.

    However a lot of confusions remains on portfolio structuring and sell/churn decisions. Would love your view.

    Regards

    Ankush
    ankush85@gmail.com (if required)

    ankush

    January 26, 2016 at 8:06 am

  4. Hi Amit,
    I have earlier written my comment on my strategy and related queries. Please let me know in case you have not received/read it. Will write it again here.
    Regards
    Ankush

    ankush

    February 3, 2016 at 7:05 am

  5. Dear Ankush

    Sorry for the delayed reply.

    You will always miss out on opportunities with:
    – finite wealth (100 Billion $ is also finite)
    – given, numerous investing strategies and trading methods

    Grass seems greener when our strategy does not work in short term.

    In my opinion a 10 stock portfolio as well as a 35 stock portfolio can return roughly same amount of return if second one is churned more actively by near full time investor.

    Core portfolio should be 70-80%, trading 20-30% in my opinion.

    I think it makes sense to experiment with your strategy as long as it avoids leverage. You'll have the answers with time.

    BR

    Amit Arora

    February 4, 2016 at 9:23 pm

  6. Sir,
    I just wanted to know if you looked at Bombay Burmah Trading Corp's tea division in your research and your thoughts on it as a competitor.

    Warm Regards,
    Wayne

    wayne gonsalves

    February 26, 2016 at 6:24 am

  7. Sir,
    Any view on AVT Natural Product

    Gaurang

    March 10, 2016 at 7:32 am


Leave a Reply

